DeepMatter Group Plc Board

DeepMatter Group Plc Board

James Ede-Golightly
Non-Executive Chairman

James Ede-Golightly is chairman of East Balkan Properties Plc and Oxford Advanced Surfaces Ltd and has extensive experience as a non-executive on the boards of AIM-quoted companies with international business interests. James was a founder of ORA Capital Partners in 2006, having previously worked as an analyst at Merrill Lynch Investment Managers and Commerzbank. He is a CFA Charterholder and holds an MA in economics from Cambridge University. In 2012, he was awarded New Chartered Director of the Year by the Institute of Directors.

Mark Warne

Mark Warne, was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of DeepMatter Group plc on the 2 July 2018. Mark, who joined DeepMatter as a Non-Executive Director in September 2015 also served as its Executive Chairman between April 2017 and July 2018. Mark is widely recognised in the UK and International life sciences sector, having spent almost 10 years at IP Group Plc, a leading intellectual property commercialisation company, where he led the Healthcare team. He managed a portfolio of £330m of net assets in 2016/2017 and represented IP Group on the boards of both listed and private companies. In 2018, concurrent with the integration of Touchstone Innovations into IP Group, Mark became a Partner in the Life Sciences division. He joined IP Group from pre-clinical drug discovery CRO, Exelgen, where he was Managing Director. Mark spent eight years at Exelgen (formerly Tripos Discovery Research) where he also held positions in licensing and strategic affairs, project management and research. He has a PhD in Computational Chemistry, an MSc in Colloid Science and a BSc in Chemistry, all from the University of Bristol. Mark is a Chartered Chemist and member of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He serves as a non-executive director on the boards of hVIVO plc and Ixico plc.

Prof. Lee Cronin
Founding Scientific Director

Professor Cronin is the Regius Chair of Chemistry in the Department Chemistry at the University. He was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and appointed to the Gardiner Chair in April 2009. He was awarded a Philip Leverhulme Prize by the Leverhulme Trust in 2007. He was awarded the Corday-Morgan medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2012. Professor Cronin has a large active group at the University of Glasgow performing cutting-edge research into how complex chemical systems, created from non-biological building blocks, can have real-world applications with wide impact. Professor Cronin has published in excess of 300 peer-reviewed articles in a number of journals and has given over 280 invited presentations at conferences and universities worldwide.

Michael Bretherton
Finance Director

Michael Bretherton has acted as Finance Director in a number of public and private companies. He has a degree in Economics from Leeds University and is a chartered accountant having trained and worked at PriceWaterhouse for seven years in London and the Middle East. His principal role from May 2006 to July 2014 was that of Finance Director of ORA Capital Partners Plc, an investment company with active interests in early stage growth companies. Mr. Bretherton is also Chairman of Adams Plc and a director of Sarossa Plc, both of which mainly invest in special situation opportunities and technology businesses.

Laurence Ede
Non-Executive Director

Laurence Ede was the Managing Director and co-owner of Tocris Bioscience, a company producing chemical compounds for pharmaceutical research, when it was sold to Techne Corporation for £75M in 2011. Mr. Ede had previously led the Management Buyout of Tocris for £14M five years earlier and grew its value by focusing on developing the business to be an increasingly significant provider of products within the life science arena. Mr. Ede is currently a non-executive director of Ubiquigent Ltd, a drug discovery services company using research tools and chemistry to pursue ubiquitin system-focused drug discovery programmes. He has a BSc in Chemistry from Reading University and an MBA from the University of Bath.

David Cleevely CBE FREng FIET
Non-Executive Director

David Cleevely is a serial entrepreneur having founded or co-founded several companies and organisations, notably including Abcam plc, Analysys Limited, 3 WayNetworks Limited, Cambridge Wireless Limited, Cambridge Angels and Controllis Limited. David is Chairman of the Raspberry Pi Foundation and is a member of the IET Communications Policy Panel. He was awarded a CBE for services to innovation and technology in 2013.

Bettina Goerner
Non-Executive Director

Bettina Goerner is Managing Director Database Research Group at Springer Nature, based in Heidelberg, Germany. She oversees central product management and development for the databases and corporate product lines. This spans a portfolio of content relevant to academic institutions and corporations with R&D activity in areas like drug discovery and material sciences. Springer Nature was created as a result of the merger of Nature Publishing Group, Palgrave Macmillan, Macmillan Education and Springer Science+Business Media in May 2015.

Bettina graduated in Molecular Biology (MSc) from the International Max Planck Research School after a research stay at the Harvard Institute of Medicine. She first ventured into the corporate world with assignments at McKinsey & Company and INSEAD Business School, before joining Springer in 2008. She was responsible for Springer's open access activities from 2009 to 2013 before moving to her current position.


Page last updated: 15 March 2019
Back to top